Happy Trails, To Me

Edit: This was an April Fool’s joke.  I’m still here!

You might have noticed that I haven’t been writing as much lately, filling this blog with mindless fluff like Restaurant Review Roulette.  Part of the reason for this is because I’ve been extremely busy with my job, my family, and with organizations that are very important to me.  I’m a health care attorney, and with the recent reform legislation, I’ve been spending untold hours trying to figure it all out.  Each of my kids plays soccer, and if I’m not coaching, I’m watching their games.  I’m about to become the Board Chair of the Lucy Daniels Center and am also heavily involved with Band Together, two wonderful charities.

So, as you can see, I really have a reason for not being here so much.  It’s weighed on me pretty heavily, because I’ve heard numerous times that blogs typically peter out after a year or so.  I enjoy this blog.  I enjoy writing about food.

But it’s time to let go.

I’ve decided that this will be the last entry on VarmintBites.  I’ve made a new commitment to my job, my family and the community.  If I can’t truly dedicate myself to my blog, then I shouldn’t be doing it at all.  I owe that much to you, my faithful readers.

The world of food is very important and very serious.  We all need to focus on the source of our food, and what we feed our children.  We also need to know about banana slicers, whiskey toothpaste, and how to open a wine bottle with your shoe.  Food is the most important thing in the world, and I’ve worked tirelessly to make this the most important blog in the Triangle.  No, the most important blog in the State — the country — the world.  And now that I’ve reached that point, right when I’m at the top, it’s time to say goodbye.  Thanks for the memories, folks.

And I’ll see you soon, when it isn’t April 1st.

8 Responses to Happy Trails, To Me

  1. Michael says:

    You had me! Nice work!

  2. sally says:

    Yeah – had me too!

  3. Erin says:

    I hate April 1st!

  4. Alan says:

    My favorite is still your one about Grant Achatz coming to the Triangle to cook southern food. Genius.

  5. Sarah says:

    phew…i thought you were serious

  6. Jeff says:

    Got me. Well done. I was getting ready to plead with you to at least keep the site up for a while so that people could go thru and cull the stuff they want/need.

  7. Jon Phillips says:

    Heh – only the first paragraph came across in my RSS reader, so I was depressed for a day until I came back to check out the full story… phew!

  8. fuzzy says:

    Devil! I’m looking on Sunday early am, and have forgotten completely about April Fools.

Leave a Reply

