I’m Hired!

Well, when I wrote a couple weeks ago that I had never worked a minute in a restaurant, I stated the following:

I’m announcing today that I’m offering up my services to work the line in a real restaurant, to flip burgers, to prep for the day’s service. I got your brunoise right here, buddy. I’ll wait tables, wash dishes, or throw together a tasty mojito. Oh, I’ll screw it up, of course, and your customers may suffer, but I want to see how incompetent I’ll be. And how stupid I’ll look, as I don’t even have the right kind of shoes to work in a kitchen.

I thought I might get one or two offers, but I ended up getting 6 that represented 15 different establishments across the Triangle.  And these didn’t include offers from chefs who have become pretty close friends over the years.  And I didn’t accept one offer, I was stupid enough to do two.

So, where will I be working?  My first adventure will be at Globe Restaurant and Bar on Glenwood Avenue.  If you want to witness a train wreck, or avoid it, I’ll be working both lunch and dinner on Friday, August 28.  Yes, that’s a Friday.  Yes, that’s Restaurant Week.  Yes, I’m completely insane.  I’ll be in the kitchen, trying to stay out of the way of chefs Heath Holloman and Gray Modlin.

That would be crazy enough if I stopped there, but, NOOOOOO, I have to completely prove that I’m not fit for this business by working at Herons Restaurant in the ultra-swank Umstead Hotel.  I’ll be plenty nervous working at Globe, but working the dinner service at Herons may make me break out the adult diapers.  I’ll be in the kitchen on Tuesday and Wednesday, October 13th and 14th.  I’ll be working the dinner service, so you’re safe for lunch.  I was informed today that the Fall menu will be in place then, and knowing how talented chef Scott Crawford is, it’ll be a blast.  And I’ll even get a uniform and apron!  I’ll also do a front of the house shift after I complete my kitchen training, but we haven’t sorted out that date yet.

Honestly, I’m not at all nervous about this, as these will be fun experiences for me.  Sure, I’ll screw up, but we’re all entering into this relationship with our eyes wide open.  And I assure you that no one will let any of my mistakes end up on your plate.

So come and heckle me at Globe or Herons on those nights.  Who knows, I just might do a decent job.

6 Responses to I’m Hired!

  1. Wow, those both sound awesome. I can’t wait to hear more about the experience. BTW, I used your fig pizza as my inspiration for last nights dinner – phenominal. Check out my blog for photos.

  2. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Where can one find the best figs right now? Local farmer’s market?

  3. Varmint says:

    Farmers’ markets should have a ton of them. Or just walk around most neighborhoods — lots of fig trees!

  4. peter g. says:

    no way…Herons, those guys rock out for dinner service….bring your A game both of those nights varmint.

  5. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Never knew there were lots of fig trees. I’m in the Chapel Hill/Carrboro area so I’ll check tomorrow.

  6. Ann says:

    You’re crazy, absolutely, but I’m mighty envious of your adventure.

Leave a Reply

