The Best Burger?

burger

I might have had the best burger in the Triangle tonight.  It was served very rare, with melted Swiss cheese and some amazingly meaty bacon.  The meat in the burger was coursely ground, perfectly seasoned, and extraordinarily beefy-flavored.  The burger had a nice crust on it, and I really don’t know how anyone could surpass it.

And I made it.

I took some skirt steak from Whole Foods, cut it up into chunks, sprinkled it with sea salt, and put it through the meat grinder — using the course plate.  I lightly patted it out into two patties, added some pepper, and put into a red-hot iron skillet.  After a couple of minutes I flipped the burgers, added the cheese, and put on a toasted bun.  Topped with some house-cured bacon from Poole’s Diner (check out the updated website), it was nirvana.  The only thing that could possible improve the experience was the beer, and the Hogwash (hickory-smoked brown porter) from Fullsteam came through in the clutch.

I’m not sure that skirt steak is the best cut of beef for burgers, but it had the right amount of fat content and its flavor was incredible.  I ate a fair amount of it raw, and I could have eaten several ounces more.  It was that good.  Let me know if there’s a better cut of beef for burger and tell me why.

A burger is a dietary splurge, and these days, I might as well just eat the best possible version available.  And I did.

8 Responses to The Best Burger?

  1. Gail says:

    OK,when am I invited over??? : )

  2. burgeoningfoodie says:

    How rare are we talking? Was basically a sear and that was it (I’ll call it a Kitfo burger)? I watch what I eat (especially as it goes from the plate to my mouth so as to not get it on my clothes), but now and again you just get a craving for a hunk of meat. In the summer, it doubles when you can smell grills a goin. This once again reaffirms the statement that if you don’t like the way it’s done, you’re best bet is to do it yourself.

  3. Jeff says:

    I like flat iron way better than skirt, so maybe it would make a better burger?

  4. Anonymous says:

    I made one with skirt and short rib. Delish!! The right amount of fat and juicy and beefy

  5. chops says:

    Skirt steak seems to be hot right now with burgers. I use brisket for my burgers and they seem to go over real well. I will give skirt a try.

  6. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Saw this and had to send it your way.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/01/dining/01burg.html?emc=eta1

  7. Sounds delish…nothing like homemade fired up burgers and cookin’! But if you’re in a hurry, I think Backyard Burger has a great mushroom swiss burger.

  8. peter g. says:

    The best burger ive ever had, was a kobe beef cheeseburger with grilled onions and blue cheese.

Leave a Reply

