Triangle Restaurant Week Coming

trw

The second annual Triangle Restaurant Week will be held across the Triangle on May 11-17.  Restaurant Week has been a fixture in other cities for years, where restaurants offer a three-course menu for a low, fixed price.  For the Triangle event, lunch will cost $15 and dinner will be $25.  Many restaurants typically provide a special “Restaurant Week” menu, but other places allow diners to order off the menu, recognizing that they want their customers to experience the full menu.  As I learn more details, I’ll report back here.

Last year, Restaurant Week only included restaurants in Raleigh, but the event has truly expanded by including a number of Durham and Cary-based establishments.

Some of the restaurants that I would consider checking out include Four Square, 18 Seaboard, Jibarra, Il Palio, Frazier’s, and Sitti.  There are currently 48 places that are participating this year, which is fantastic growth.  Go to the Triangle Restaurant Week website for more information.

6 Responses to Triangle Restaurant Week Coming

  1. burgeoningfoodie says:

    What Coquette is not in your list?! I’d check that out first since I’ve wanted to go while it was under development. If I had to pick a top 5 out of the list of participants (one for each weeknight)..

    I’d say in no particular order
    Coquette
    Vivace
    An
    Mura
    18 Seaboard

    With either Solas or Jibarra thrown in for extra measure :-p

  2. Varmint says:

    I didn’t list Coquette because I’ve eaten there fairly often, as you might have suspected! I listed places where I haven’t dined very often.

  3. Victoria says:

    I’m disappointed that there are only 2 Chapel Hill/Carrboro restaurants listed and I’m not really interested in either of them. I’m not particularly impressed with the Raleigh restaurants listed, but I think it’s because I’m not really impressed with restaurants in Raleigh. I would drive over to eat at The Duck and Dumpling though.

  4. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Coming from the Chapel Hill/Durham area, I’m surprised that Bonne Soiree wasn’t listed (though the size and intimacy I think wouldn’t work). Also though, I have to say I like the few times I have had the opportunity to eat in Raleigh. Though the places I listed were places I’ve not been to either.. I’d like to try Mo’s Diner. It is interesting to note that they list Il Palio in Raleigh (or every restaurant for that matter). I think I’d try some of the other places too.

  5. Christian says:

    I am definitely surprised to see Four Square on the list, and I echo burgeoningfoodie’s comment about the very short list of Chapel Hill restaurants. I would have loved to see Lantern and Acme in Carrboro. I am looking forward to trying An in Cary. Should be lots of fun!

  6. Vanessa says:

    After living in the DC area and visiting Boston and NYC during their Restaurant Weeks, this rocks! I hadn’t heard about it anywhere except on your blog. For those of you in Chapel Hill and anywhere else, go to the restaurants you’d like to see participating and ask them to sign up for next year! I’m going to gain back the 10 lbs I lost by eating out twice a day for a week.

Leave a Reply

