Bacon is So Yesterday

I never really thought of bacon as a fad, at least among my friends, it’s not. But then, I did notice that a lot more people have been focused on bacon of late.  But here’s a video eulogy for the cured belly, a eulogy that is probably way premature.

8 Responses to Bacon is So Yesterday

  1. As usual, the alternative media claim to be first where we of the mainstream media have already gone. From my column of Dec. 31, 2008:

    “Call this silly and sublime: The Year of Bacon may be over. Troll the food Web sites and you’ll find links to everything from bacon-flavored salt to chocolate-covered bacon.

    The height came last week when http://www.seriouseats.com posted pictures of the bacon cheese roll: Strips of bacon woven – yes, like the pot holders we used to make in day camp – baked, covered with cheese and rolled into a log.

    Now, the hot topic on the food Web sites is whether bacon “has jumped the shark,” or worn out its interest by trying too hard.

    Merry crispness to you, too.”

  2. Varmint says:

    I can’t believe I missed your column, Kathi! Touche’!

    But you and I both know that when it comes to bacon — pure bacon like Benton’s — it will never be “over.”

  3. Even better: Cure your own. I’ve just finished another batch of pork belly from Grateful Growers. Did half as maple-cured bacon and the other half as sort-of-pancetta. Way too good to waste on silly arts and craft projects like bacon weaving.

  4. scott says:

    whatever. bacon hasn’t even begun.

  5. scott says:

    but… i do endorse Kathleen’s approach to treating it simply and enjoying it for the perfection it already is.

  6. MB says:

    Bacon was so last night at my house. I cooked the entire package. What else are you going to eat with eggs and toast? I considered giving up pork for Lent and then I thought about the conditions at Dix and changed my mind.

  7. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Yeah I don’t think the bacon fad has passed. I had to convince a friend of mine (who is the least picky person I know) that the Mo’s Bacon Bar was a good idea.

    He did relent finally and agreed with me after eating it.

  8. Bacon can so not be over. My friend just overnighted some chocolate-covered for me last week. Plus, it isn’t physically possible, nor is it recommended, that one eat pancakes without it.

    Lettuce and tomato sandwiches are still good in the summertime, though, even without the piggie.

    No, it’s not over.

Leave a Reply

