Apples, Apples, and More Apples

apples22

In the last few weeks, I’ve made apple crisp, a traditional apple pie, a sour cream streusel apple pie, and apple sauce.  I’ve tried two different kinds of apple cake and tasted apple and brie crepes.  Needless to say, my kids (and particularly my oldest, the 14 year old boy) love apple desserts.  So I’m going to be looking to you, my faithful readers, to help me with some new apple desserts, as I’m looking at doing something different.  I’ve made apple turnovers and puffy french apple pancakes.  I’ve not made apple dumplings or a classic tart tatin.

So, what do you got for me???

12 Responses to Apples, Apples, and More Apples

  1. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Classic baked apples? I was going to say the tart tartin, but I guess that is on your to do. There is always apple fritters, but those may be too close to the turnovers. Apple Betty (Apple Brown Betty)? I’m just tossing these out. There is always candied and caramel apples too (or even Caramel Apple Salad for that matter). If you want something adult, you can always make a good spiced cider or Apple Toddy. A simple sliced apple and honey works well too. How about an Apple Charlotte or bread pudding? Alright no more tossing of ideas.

  2. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Actually one last idea but not a dessert. If you cmake your own sausages their may be a good way to combine the two or make a glaze or Apple butter.

  3. moose says:

    Last night I made a recipe from the new Gourmet magazine. It’s not all apple, but it’s good. Peel and cut up 2 apples and 2 pears, combine those with 2 cups fresh cranberries, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla (the recipe said 3/4 teaspoon, but what the hey) and 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch. I added about 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon just because I like it. Toss all that together, put it in a buttered 2-quart baking dish. Mash together 1 cup regular oats, 1/2 cup flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/2 cup sugar and 1 stick softened unsalted butter. Sprinkle that on the top. Bake at 425. The recipe said 20 minutes, took me more like 30. I can’t remember now if I put the cinnamon in the fruit or the topping – it might have been the topping. I guess it is kind of “crisp-like,” so maybe it’s not different enough for you, but the combination of fruits was very nice.

  4. moose says:

    I also roasted apples and sweet potatoes together once. Was quite good.

  5. seahawg says:

    One of my favorites, is apples on the grill. Take a good baking apple (I like Stayman Winesaps), and core it. Mix brown sugar, honey, butter, a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and chopped pecans together. Stuff apple with mixture. Wrap in Reynolds Wrap. Cook steak medium rare over hot charcoal grill. Drink beer while grillin’. When steak comes off, put wrapped apples on grill. Eat steak and drink another beer. When finished, remove apples from grill, and have dessert.

  6. Apple Upside Down Cake. We ran a recipe in our apple package back in September, but you can sort of figure it out just from the name.

  7. Alan says:

    You gotta make tart tatin, though it looks like you intend to do it. I can give you a solid (and easy) recipe if you’d like.

  8. Varmint says:

    Please do, Alan. That would be great.

  9. Alan says:

    Figure I’d post this on your blog (as opposed to e-mailing you) so other people can use it too:

    Make caramel – straight up sugar, no need to add anything, and pour enough into some ramekins (ours at the restaurant are slightly taller 4 or 6 oz ramekins) like you would do for flan.

    While the caramel is working, core and peel some apples – granny smith obviously work best, but use what you want. It takes about 1 1/2 apple per ramekin. Cut the apples into halves and slice each half into 3 or 4 slices. I’ve learned to keep the apples together, so the “stacking” process goes easier.

    Next, place the sliced apples into the ramekins and use additional slices to make sure they stay in place, including the center where the core used to be (at first this is more difficult than it seems, but you should be able to turn the ramekin over without the apple falling out).

    Now, take sugar and pour it into all the little crevasses; bang the ramekin down to settle the sugar and keep pouring. Next, put about half a tbsp of unsalted butter on top of the apple/sugar and wrap tightly in foil.

    Place on a sheet tray and bake at 375 for about an hour and a half.

    Remove carefully from the foil and clean the ramekins up with a wet towel (do this while everything is still hot). Top with a circle of puff pastry and put back in a 500 degree oven for 2-3 minutes, or until the puff pastry has risen and is golden brown.

    At this point you can store them in a cooler or serve them by turning out onto a plate. If you opt to store them before serving, reheat for about 6-8 minutes in a 500 degree oven and turn onto a plate.

    Serve with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.

    Enjoy.

  10. seahawg says:

    Alan, the recipe sounds fabulous. You mention a restaurant in your post. If I were lazy, and wanted to partake of this, what is the name of your restaurant? Thanks for posting the recipe.

  11. Alan says:

    Seahawg,

    Sorry, but I keep a blog of my own (where I occasionally complain about the workplace) and I make it a point not to mention where I work. Suffice it to say that tart tatin is a french dessert, so I leave you to draw your own conclusions. . .

  12. Colin says:

    I am a huge fan of apples any way. My mom was a killer cook when it came to apples. I think one of my favorites was apple beignets. If I remember correctly we made a simple beignet batter and folded in julienne apples then deep fry. What a great time of year to cook.

Leave a Reply

