Coquette: Construction Update

The construction at Coquette continues, as the black and white tile floor is being laid and the tin-type ceiling in the bar area is nearly installed.  The hardwood floors in the private room are done, but they were covered with paper, so no photos.

When I stopped by yesterday to snap a couple of pictures, the construction superintendent asked if I was with the insurance company.  Apparently, one of the gaskets on a sprinkler wasn’t installed properly, causing a bit of water to spray about.  I don’t think it’s anything serious.

The Coquette folks had a private event last evening at a nearby home featuring a lot of dishes from the new menu (I promise I’ll show you the menu next week!).  Unfortunately, I can’t report on it, as it was my daughter’s birthday, and that still takes precedence over my food blogging.  I’ll get a report from the chefs and give you the low-down next week.

5 Responses to Coquette: Construction Update

  1. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Something about the colors reminds me of 3rd Avenue Deli… not quite sure what though. Weird… I know.

  2. Scott Shorter says:

    Hey Dean, do you have pics of the first big egullet pig pickin’? They seem to have vanished down the memory hole at egullet.

    I’m looking in particular for a picture of Heather giving her heavy metal hand while talking to someone in your kitchen. Does that ring a bell?

    Thanks…

  3. Balthazaripoff says:

    it’s nothing but a been there, done that Balthazar rip off.

  4. susan says:

    I’ve never been to Balthazar. But I’ve been to Paris. And I LOVE Coquette!!!!

  5. Varmint says:

    And frankly, Balthazar is simply a rip off of a French brasserie. Come on, there’s really few truly original ideas any more.

Leave a Reply

