Happy Anniversary to Me

Tomorrow, September 12, marks the one-year anniversary of VarmintBites.  Wow.  When I started this blog, I didn’t expect to generate a lot of interest, and I didn’t even think I’d stay with it for very long, but it’s been a ton of fun and I’ve received a lot of great feedback.  I’ll be celebrating the anniversary by introducing a new series of stories.  Details to come tomorrow, but I think it will be interesting for you (think “new restaurant”).

Let me display my narcissism and spout off some facts about the site.  

First, the most viewed topic on the site is about fried chicken.  Chocolate gravy, biscuits and peanut butter and banana cake are also in the top 20.  The top three search terms that lead people to this site (other than terms such as “varmint bites”) are “fried chicken,” “chocolate gravy” and “biscuits.”  You folks like your Southern food (I knew I had a smart audience).

You also like restaurant information.  Stories about The Mint and Poole’s Downtown Diner rank 2nd and 4th, respectively.  However, there are 4 different stories about The Mint in the top 20.  I guess the controversy I started helped with my traffic, but I assure you that wasn’t my intent.  

I don’t get a ton of traffic with my most personal stories, but then, I write those for me more than anything else. 

I’ve had a lot of readers from across the world, but I’m pretty popular in Singapore for some reason.

I’ve received several offers to add my blog to networks where I could make a ton of money ( yeah, right — I could make a whopping $50 a month).

I’ve published 189 posts (190 counting this one).  That means that I posted something new a little bit more frequently than every other day.  There have been 1208 comments, or over 7 comments for each post (and I’ve deleted about a dozen additional comments).  Of course, I’ve also had over 3,000 spam comments, but the wonderful WordPress software catches those.   

If you Google “varmintbites” you end up with over 10,000 hits.  That boggles the neurons, for sure.  

So, happy anniversary to me, but more importantly, thank you for making this so much fun.  It’s been a blast, and I look forward to a second year.

Top 20 Topics

Fried Chicken  
The Mint Now Open in Raleigh  
Easier No Knead Bread  
Ashley Christensen Brings the French Cou  
Chocolate Gravy — Yes, Chocolate Gravy!  
An Open Letter to Chowhound, by Charlie  
About  
News & Observer’s Top 20 Restaurants  
Greg Cox Just Doesn’t Get It  
Biscuits on a Saturday Morning  
Best Burgers in the Triangle  
Peanut Butter and Banana Cake (aka “Elvi  
Jujube Banned from Chowhound?  
Raleigh Restaurants Open on Sundays and  
Vittles from the SFA Symposium  
The Pit Opens Today  
Buttermilk Pie  
The Mint is Loaded  
Puff Pastry, Palmiers, and Me  
The Mint — Cutting Edge Cooking in Rale  
12 Responses to Happy Anniversary to Me

  1. Maura says:

    Happy anniversary and congratulations, varmint. Yours is one of my favorite food blogs. There’s always something fun and interesting to read. The fact that, for me, it’s local is a bonus. I don’t get to Raleigh often (there’s so much great food in Durham, we don’t generally take the time to go to Raleigh), but I like to keep up with what’s going on there.

  2. Dana says:

    Congrats! I don’t know who’s happier; you or the readers!

  3. Alan says:

    Congratulations on your one year! To think, without our blogs we’d have never met.

  4. Congratulations! I’ve so enjoyed watching you explore your passion for food.

  5. Jeff says:

    Congrats, Dean. Didn’t realize this blog is that young. Check it daily. This site has inspired me to try more than a few dishes. Thanks, and keep it going!

  6. seahawg says:

    Congrats, Dean. I hope you’ve had as much fun writing it, as we have had, reading it. Time flies when you’re having fun!

  7. Fuzzy says:

    I have to thank chowhound and Charlie Deal for my migration to this “place of your words”.

    It’s weird sometimes being a southern country-boy raised on an NC tobacco farm who is a foodie and a radical conservationist (Earth First! Eat Local! Nuke Monsanto! In-Food Project Rocks! etc.). I get some of the same vibes here sometimes.

    Maybe if we can ever meet up and share a meal, I could wrangle you and yours an invitation to our annual brunswick stew (+bbq pig +bbq chickens +moonshine) the olde original central northern NC / southern Virginia way (i.e., the way my grandfather did it)

    Grats, Dean on making something new and worthwhile!

  8. Joe says:

    Happy Birthday! I hope both you and your blog have many more. 🙂

  9. Misleide says:

    Happy Birthday … I hope you are very happy both in his life, as in your blog .. kisses

  10. feistync says:

    happy blogiversary!

  11. Nibbs says:

    Well, you get all kinds of other things when you google Varmint Bites – As in
    http://forum.uncoverreality.com/recreation-station/37567-mother-fireflys-bbq-varmint-bites.html

    Happy anniversary. Always interesting to hear your take on the local scene. And you don’t ignore Durham like some Raleighites might.

    Have you discovered the source of the Singapore hits? Maybe a local faithful reader is often away on business. This long distance comment comes from a Hong Kong ip – But I’ll be back in Durham by tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

