Three T-Shirts I Want

When I was in Alaska, my entire family laughed at the Native Alaskan barbecue vendor wearing the shirt that said, “Vegetarian: Inuit Word for Poor Hunter.”  That’s an oldie but a goodie.

In a story about obsessive foodie dinner club parties, today’s NY Times mentioned someone wearing a t-shirt that read, “Meat Is Murder — Tasty, Tasty Murder.”

And my favorite still might be the shirt worn by a butcher in a Gourmet article from several months ago: “Bacon — The Gateway Meat.”

I think I need more food-related t-shirts.  If anyone wants to send me one, that’s fine with me.

11 Responses to Three T-Shirts I Want

  1. Matt says:

    I would like one that encompasses a fave phrase of mine: “Blue Cheese is a Gateway Cheese.” After all, if you get over the hump of eating moldy cheese (usually via blue cheese) then all those other wonderfuly, smelly cheeses are within reach!

  2. Joe says:

    The t-shirt in question is at Threadless. I’ve debated buying one, but never gotten around to it, just like I’ve never gotten around to buying the shirt from the fried chicken place in Kansas City that says “We Choke Our Own Chickens.” 🙂

  3. Joe says:

    I really shouldn’t have left out “Bacon is a Vegetable,” inspired by an installment in a web.comic called “Diesel Sweeties.”

    I better stop with the t-shirts now, ’cause I’ve already thought of another one. 🙂

  4. andrea says:

    What is the name of that place in Kansas City?

  5. VaNC says:

    Me, I just covet my Varmint’s Pig Picking t-shirt!

  6. cbgrace says:

    One I’ve seen that I love is “Real men eat cupcakes”

  7. Alan says:

    The best I’ve seen is “Stop tofu abuse, eat foie gras”.

    http://www.chefsprofessional.com/FoieGras.htm

  8. Andrea, the chicken place is Stroud’s. It’s actually outside Kansas City.

    (I wear my Stroud’s t-shirt to the gym with pride. Whenever I pass the weightlifters, somebody starts giggling over the “we choke our own chickens” line on the back.

    My personal proudest food T-shirt (and I have a very, very big collection of them) is the one from Sigma Delta Chi, the journalism fraternity: “Will Write for Food.” I think you can still order them online.

  9. durhamfood says:

    I love that foie gras shirt!

  10. Tela T says:

    have the foie gras shirt – and a sweat shirt that says, “I didn’t claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegetables….” – oh, and the varmint bbq t-shirt too… –

Leave a Reply

