Ice Cream, Uncooked

The only ice cream cookbook I have ever owned is the Ben & Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book.  I think I got it as a Christmas present along with a Donvier ice cream maker, back in the late 80s, when Ben & Jerry’s was all that and more.  And so I made ice cream — a buttload of it.  Combined with my suddenly sedentary lifestyle, I’m blaming Ben and Jerry for much of my weight gain over the years.  The bastards.

Anyhow, the unusual thing about the ice cream in this cookbook is that it’s not cooked at all.  There is no custard.  There is no tempering of egg yolks.  And curdling is never a concern, of course.  But using uncooked eggs frightens some people.  A lot of people.  Folks are worried sick about salmonella, and when there’s a scare about raw tomatoes, the concerns about uncooked eggs peaks again.

Not me.  Nor my family, as we like the simplicity of Ben & Jerry’s recipes.  A couple of eggs.  Some sugar.  Cream.  Flavoring or fruit or chocolate.  Very simple, very clean, and very good, and the kids can make it themselves.  And in the 20 years I’ve been making ice cream this way, I’ve never had anyone get sick.  Maybe I’m just due, but then, I’ll live with that risk.

Here’s a recipe for an ice cream flavor I made up the weekend before last to accompany my ultra-easy peach cobbler: Buttermilk Molasses Ice Cream.  I’m sure someone has made this flavor before, but this one came from my little ol’ head, so I’m taking credit for it!   It’s an interesting flavor, with the sour tones of the buttermilk balanced with the earthiness of the molasses, but ultimately, I prefer to eat it with something like cobbler or pie rather than eating it unadulterated.  My wife, however, loves it straight, so give it a try and let me know what you think.

Buttermilk Molasses Ice Cream

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 Tbsp molasses
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 cup buttermilk

Whisk eggs in a medium to large bowl until light yellow.  Slowly add sugar while whisking.  Whisk in salt and molasses.  Stir in cream and buttermilk until sugar is fully dissolved.  Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.  Could it get any easier than that????

13 Responses to Ice Cream, Uncooked

  1. Morgan says:

    I am a Raleigh native currently living in San Diego. I love to cook and do some catering on the side and I have just stumbled upon your blog. You are helping me keep up with things ‘back home’ (hope to return to the east coast soon!!) and your blog is great. Thanks for sharing your recipes and helping me stay up to date on what’s going on ‘food-wise’ back there. Keep it comin’!

  2. “But using uncooked eggs frightens some people.”

    Never enough to interview with my licking the leftover cake and brownie batter, YUM!

  3. ‘interview?! I mean, interfere!

  4. Alan says:

    Perhaps the freezing process kills the salmonella (or denatures their protein, whichever you may prefer)? I’m having a hard time finding the low temperature at which the bacteria die (the high temp is 165).

    I’ve never made uncooked ice cream and to the best of my knowledge have never eaten any. You may have inspired me, though I may make an effort to get pasteurized eggs to use.

  5. civ4freak says:

    How do you make fried ice cream?

  6. Pam says:

    It reminds me of snow cream back home in Kansas! We would mix up a similar concoction then throw some snow (clean of course 😉 in for a very yummy ‘ice cream’.

  7. Nibbs says:

    From http://www.aeb.org/LearnMore/EggSafety.htm#howsafe :

    Scientists estimate that, on average across the U.S., only 1 of every 20,000 eggs might contain the bacteria…. At this rate, if you’re an average consumer, you might encounter a contaminated egg once every 84 years.

    Once every 84 years means you have a 50% shot of making it to 42 years. Since you’ve been doing this for 20 years, you have 22 years left of mostly risk free yummy ice cream.

    Many more if 100% of your egg consumption is NOT ice cream. A more reasonable ratio is 1/100 of your egg consumption is in raw ice cream form. So you have 2200 years. Eat up until 4208.

    But I’d bet you take your chances even if the math worked out worse. 🙂

  8. Mittany says:

    Made this yesterday. I am a hero. Thank you. Linked to it in my blog.

    (ps: Hope the intern dinner is going well!)

  9. Mittany says:

    ps – how arrogant of me.
    YOU are the hero for the recipe.

    I’m just well thought of because I provided something on a “dessert night” spread that wasn’t sweet! (and was great draped across a lot of other desserts.)

  10. Rosie says:

    Wow! I googled * uncooked eggs in ice cream * as I recently bought Ben and Jerry,s recipe book, lol. and I,m delighted to have found this blog as it answered my q. Ty.

  11. Dan Plante says:

    I noticed that you were talking about ice cream and Ben and Jerry’s inparticular. I found this coupon for $3 off a pint of Ben and Jerry’s and I wanted to pass it on.

    Here is the link
    http://bandjpromotions.com/

    I hope you enjoy and have a great holiday!!

  12. Dan Plante says:

    I have noticed that you enjoy ice cream and I wanted to pass on this great deal. I found a coupon for $3 off a pint of ice cream from Ben and Jerry’s.

    Here is the link
    http://bandjpromotions.com/

    Enjoy and if you have any questions email me!

  13. Mauricio says:

    Oddly enough I ran into this same issue tonight (the Ben and Jerry’s recipes with uncooked eggs). Since what I was making used the first of their basic sweet cream bases and the second one made note that it wasn’t cooked, I rather arrogantly assumed that the first one ought to be so I did (cook it). It made a fine custard base and the Ice Cream came out fine (if a bit eggy). I later noticed that none of the egg recipes in the book are cooked and thus have egg on my face. At any rate you know it’s a good recipe when it turns out well whether you cook it or not!

Leave a Reply

