Triangle Restaurant Week

Today is the first day of Triangle Restaurant Week, and if you’ve been jonesing to get to a local restaurant at a fraction of the regular price, this is the time to do it.  A tradition in cities such as New York, Restaurant Week presents an opportunity to sample a three-course meal at reduced prices — $15 for lunch and $25 for dinner.  Now I know not many people want to spend that much for lunch, but for 3 courses, it’s worth it.  Give Glenwood Grill a chance.  Or you might have read about The Mint somewhere.  Heh.

For dinner, your options expand, and I’m thinking about heading over to Frazier’s or The Globe or Zely & Ritz, three places where you’ll definitely get your money’s worth.  And tonight is half-price wine night at Zely & Ritz, so it could be an incredible bargain.

I know that the list of restaurants is very limited, but this is the first year of Restaurant Week.  If you want more restaurants next year, go to several places this week, and the success of the program will generate more excitement.

And report back here with your Restaurant Week experiences.  I’d like to hear what type of deals are being offered.

15 Responses to Triangle Restaurant Week

  1. Chad says:

    Holy cow! I didn’t even know we *had* a restaurant week. Did I completely miss any notice of this or has their PR effort been seriously weak? There are a couple of places on the list that we’ve been meaning to get to. This just might be the impetus we’ve needed. Thanks for the heads up, Dean.

    Chad

  2. Are you possibly saying that I can take Chris out to a romantic relatively inexpensive dinner at THE MINT?

    Someone really does love me.

  3. Varmint says:

    Nope, just lunch for The Mint. But Frazier’s is probably a more romantic restaurant, and their food is quite excellent.

    Realize that most places limit their menus. They’re willing to give you a bargain, but they’re not willing to give you everything!

  4. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Right the PR must have been lacking because I found out about it looking at Artsplosure stuff and it seems to be somewhat limited to Raleigh. I was hoping The Mint would put their molecular gastronomy on display, but as the website states lunch only, it was not to be. I tried Sono last night before Avenue Q and it was good. I like the atmosphere and the color choices. My sushi though was good but too heavy. That and I was coming off a Mother’s Day brunch. I’ve been posting the link for Restaurant Week on other food blogger sites.

  5. *Thought I would share a post that I have been relaying throught a couple blogs*

    …Believe me, I would have loved to cover every media outlet for the event but everything has been done in-house (and virtually out of pocket!) through our new startup venture TriangleBlvd.com. I have no doubts that once everybody becomes educated and experiences what such an event has to offer, it will grow exponentially every year! So please share your experiences and spread the word so that we may enlighten the Triangle!

    ________________________________________________________________________

    Hello All,

    I just wanted to provide a little information regarding the “Triangle’s” first Restaurant Week. Unfortunately an incredible amount of time and effort has gone into educating restaurants as to what Restaurant Week is as the majority of them have never heard of the event before. This has required a lot of time and focus walking the restaurants through the process and what is required. Given this factor, it was decided to concentrate the first event within the Raleigh areas as to not dilute and provide a sub-par event for what should be an exciting inaugural occasion for the Triangle.

    I am literally on-call to provide assistance to the restaurants if need be and would have found it impossible to cover the Tri-area for an event that the majority are unfortunately unfamiliar with!

    Triangle Blvd is responsible for initiating and co-ordinating the event; the DRA, GRCVB and DowntownRaleigh.com have served as media sponsors. With a successful event, we shall be able to approach and secure partnerships to take the event to another level while branching out to Durham & Chapel hill.

    Next year, we plan to cover the entire Triangle; hopefully the restaurants will be better prepared for the event and notice the benefits for the community and themselves as patrons tend to try new restaurants in the area. However, this obviously depends on the involvement from the entire community.

    Again – this year is a true pilot test for the Triangle, we’ll do our best to make this an annual event for the Triangle as this has become a fantastic annual event in other cities!

    I hope this clarifies any other questions you may have but feel free to contact me personally if you have any other queries.

    mason@triangleblvd.com

    Permalink | Report | Reply

  6. Curious says:

    Does anyone know if the participating restaurants will be offering vegetarian/vegan menu options for the special price? I dont see any menus on the restaurant week site.

  7. VaNC says:

    I just got an email from Zely & Ritz that gives their menu choices and it appears to a veggie option for each course….out of two options for each course. I am not sure if itis vegan, however, but one choice for app and entree seem to be. The dessert choice is only a strawberry tart with whipped cream, which I am guessing contains butter.

  8. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Now the only issue is that the reserve now links don’t work (as of this posting).

  9. Thanks a lot for the support!

    I have been able to gather some feedback from restaurants while visiting and dining out to a few places myself (Frazier’s is a must!) and the event does seem to be gathering quite a lot of steam. The website hits alone are growing exponentially by the day so I want to extend a thank you to all who are supporting the event via participating/blogging/word-of-mouth etc. This is what is required to provide the foundation to approach the ‘powers that be’ to branch out and take the event to another level next year!

    Please share your experiences whether it is good or bad and feel free to drop your comments/suggestions to info@TriRestaurantweek.com as we would love to hear from everyone.

    Thanks again!

    -TriangleBlvd

  10. Rafe says:

    I’ve got lunch reservations at The Mint tomorrow. I plan on trying dinner there later in the month but I couldn’t pass up the $15 lunch deal. I wish my week weren’t already packed, there are some other places on the restaurant week list that have been on my to do list for awhile that I haven’t had a chance to visit.

  11. burgeoningfoodie says:

    Wish the places I wanted to try on the weekend actually did a lunch then…

  12. babs says:

    Well. The Independent stated lunch was $12/person, dinner for $15/person. Went to Fraziers, on Sunday-closed. Went to Porter’s Tavern. Thoroughly enjoyed, it, but… $25/person, and the “appetizer” was soup or salad. The ad in the Independent didn’t give addresses of restaurants, or the fact that menu was “limited’- kind of expected that- but advertise correctly. The description- to the left page of the 1/3 page ad, was WRONG. Porter’s said “Oh, it’s $25.” Being the mag said $15/person, I walked in thinking it was $25/2- after what she said. Hey, it’s a GREAT idea, don’t get me wrong- but truly advertise what it is and is NOT. Otherwise, that retaurant ends up looking like they kind of swindled you into false pretense. Would help if, being it included Sunday, the ad/llisting included what restaurants are CLOSED. Went to The Mint, and to Fraziers-only to find they’re closed on that day.

  13. Claire Cusick says:

    Dear Babs,

    The pricing mistake was mine. It was just brought to my attention this week (May 27), and I included a correction and apology in next week’s edition (June 4). You have my apology as well.

    Sincerely,

    Claire Cusick

  14. feistync says:

    I just posted a review of our experience at Savoy on my blog.

  15. feistync says:

    Oh, I guess there’s no link. My blog: http://feistync.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

