These are the Days of our Knives

Apex resident Chad Ward has been my go-to guy for knives for quite some time now. I was in the market for a new chef’s knife several years ago and sought help from the eGullet community. Chad, who was then living in Iowa, even mailed me a custom-made knife and a steel to try. Talk about trust, as I had never met the guy. This special knife was really cool, but it wasn’t perfect, and it was a little pricey. Anyhow, I ended up getting a Kershaw Shun, and Chad was there to help throughout the process.

Chad knows his knives. He’s obsessed with knives. Hell, he’s now even managed to get a book on knives published — by Harper Collins, at that! An Edge in the Kitchen will be in stores on June 10, and I encourage all my readers to buy a copy from Amazon, your favorite internet retailer, or from your local friendly bookstore. You’ll learn how to choose knives, how to use knives, but perhaps most importantly, how to sharpen and maintain them.

Chad’s no knife snob, either. He knows that some of the best knives for the home cook are pretty damn cheap, and he can steer you to a $25 bargain. If you want to spend a buttload of money, he can help you there, too. The book has a ton of photos, so you’ll have step-by-step guides on how to use that new sharpener you got for Christmas in 2003.

Chad’s got a blog, Chadwrites.com, and I encourage you to visit it and leave him a comment. Or better yet, ask him a question, as he loves to teach. Now if I can just get him to sharpen my knives!

5 Responses to These are the Days of our Knives

  1. spamwise says:

    So this is where you’ve gone off to.

    *waves to Dean*

  2. whit says:

    May I take this opportunity to ask where the non-pros get their knives sharpened around here?

  3. seahawg says:

    Not exactly a culinary stop, but I get my knives sharpened at Davi’s Guns. The guy there will put an edge on a knive that is unreal. Try as I may, I can’t come close to matching him. They are scary sharp!

    http://www.davisguns.com/about/3/our-store

  4. Chad says:

    Ron Beck at Beck’s Cutlery at McGregor Village in Cary (right off US-1 and US-64) does an excellent job at a reasonable price. He also has a very well stocked cutlery selection. He’s a good guy, too.

    Chad

  5. Maddy says:

    I’ve been sharpening my own. I’ve been struggling with keeping my knives sharp, trying all different types of sharpeners. I recently got a Spyderco Triangle sharpener, and so far it is the only one that has gotten my knives even sharper than they were from the factory. I’ve noticed they stay sharp much longer as well.

    http://www.spyderco.com/catalog/details.php?product=77

Leave a Reply

