Beet Cakes — Mmm, Mmm, Good

Last Friday, I thought I came up with a completely novel idea: a fried beet pancake, similar to a potato pancake, but with shredded beet. Of course, after a bit of research, I realized that beet roesti are somewhat common, but every recipe I found was different than my creation. So, here you go!

What I did was peel several beets and then grate them with a food processor. I then grated a red onion and cooked all of this in butter in a large skillet. I added a bit of fresh thyme and some salt. Once the beets were mostly cooked, I remove the mix from the heat and allowed to cool.

I then added a beaten egg to act as a binder, dropped spoonfuls of cakes into a hot skillet with butter, and pan fried them. The beet cakes developed a slightly crispy crust, and you had to be careful not to burn them due to their high sugar content.

These were really quite tasty, and everyone at my little dinner party enjoyed them. They’re sweet, but the onion and thyme gave them a little balance. I might cook them with a splash of vinegar next time for some additional balance.

Here’s a picture of the plated beet cake along with my halibut (featuring a blood orange, dill and garlic gremolata). Mmmm, beets. And yes, my pee was pink the next day!

4 Responses to Beet Cakes — Mmm, Mmm, Good

  1. Nibbs says:

    Based on the photo, pink and redolent, I’d wager.

  2. gillan says:

    Wow! Now there’s an idea!

  3. seahawg says:

    I love pickled beets, and your recipe sounds great. Beet hashbrowns. You’ve got an inquisitive mind. Definitely not something I’d have come up with on my own, but you’ve got me wanting to try them. It would be interesting to know how many people show up at the urologist, thinking hematuria, after eating beets or blackberries.

  4. dropofkim says:

    Thank you for sharing such an interesting recipe. I am gonna make these when my parents come to town and my mother will LOVE them! Never would have thought of it, but now I’m pondering about what else could be shredded up and pan fried.
    http://www.dropofkim.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

