Poached Eggs Make the World Go Round

poached_egg_on_toast.jpg

If there’s one thing that I started to eat a lot more of in the past year, it’s poached eggs. And I hardly ever eat them for breakfast — they’re a mainstay in my dinner repertoire. Tonight I made a simple pasta of garlic, olive oil, sea salt, a touch of truffle oil (yeah, I still use it on occasion), bread crumbs and pepper. I topped it off with two poached eggs and parmesan. The runny egg yolks made a super sauce, and this was a magnificent dish.

I also top a lot of my salads with a poached egg, as once again, the yolk helps pull together a simple vinaigrette.

A dish that I stole from Ashley Christensen is toasted brioche with sauteed wild mushrooms and a poached egg.

With spring asparagus about to appear in farmers market, try a poached egg on top of the spears with some freshly grated pecorino romano.

And when I make huevos rancheros, I actually poach my eggs in the ranchero sauce. It’s fantastic and not that different from the “Eggs in Purgatory” concept, which is eggs poached in spaghetti sauce.

Of course, I haven’t even talked about breakfast dishes. Poached eggs over grits, hash browns, hash or just plain toast. Eggs Benedict. I mean, poached eggs are the alpha and the omega. They’re the best.

It’s so simple to poach an egg. You just need a skillet with an inch or two of simmering water. Add a little salt and a teaspoon or two of vinegar. Crack an egg into a ramekin, and slip the egg into the simmering water. Spoon some water over the top of the egg to cook it all over. Cook for about 3 minutes and remove with a slotted spoon. That’s it.

7 Responses to Poached Eggs Make the World Go Round

  1. zachcoulter says:

    I have fantastic memories from my childhood of poached eggs on toast with my grandfather. What a great reminded of such a simple and satisfying staple! Great blog, I will certainly return often.

  2. phoebe says:

    my 3 year old daughter loves to pierce the yolk of her poached egg and scoop it out with a spoon, leaving the white untouched.

  3. quazi says:

    poached are truly my favorite food. No better breakfast than poached eggs with liver pudding over the thickest richest toasted bread you can find

  4. Moose says:

    A wonderful rustic Italian soup called acquacotta uses poached eggs, and I love it. It’s a vegetable soup with olive oil, and to serve you place a thick slice of toasted Tuscan bread in your bowl, place a poached egg on it and pour the soup over. The egg yolk, when you stir it, enriches the whole soup. Yum.

  5. VaNC says:

    Okay, I know the cooking process is totally different, but, really, what is the taste difference between a poached egg and a over easy egg? There is nothing I like better than an egg over easy on toast. For my kids, the runnier the better, so you can dip your toast in it. I just have never seen the huge benefit of spending the time poaching.

  6. Fuzzy says:

    Dang Quazi, that’s totally awesome. I presume you are a Neese’s fan, yes/no?

    I like to cut out the center of the bread, put it on the griddle, drop some hard cheese (like parm) down the middle, flip the already partially grilled liver pudding onto the cheese, and wait until the cheese melts and starts to make a crusty edging, then I remove it all and put the egg on top. Potato bread works real well with this.

  7. Bee Yourself says:

    I just discovered poached eggs yesterday. After a lifetime of refusing to touch them, I finally gave them a try and I LOVE them! I’m actually kind of obsessed with them now. They are fun to cook and way tastier than I would have thought. Your post gave me some really great ideas for different ways to try them!

Leave a Reply

