LocoPops Coming to Raleigh!!!!

LocoPops is coming to Raleigh! LocoPops is coming to Raleigh! If you didn’t hear me, I said LocoPops is coming to Raleigh!!!

OK, deep breaths. As you can tell, I’m a bit excited about this piece of news that the N&O’s Sue Stock reported this morning. LocoPops will be opening two new stores this year, with one of them in Raleigh at 1908 Hillsborough Street, the old Weatherman’s Jewelers location (where Mrs. Varmint and I got our wedding rings and right beneath the location where Mrs. Varmint’s father opened his first architecture firm). But I digress.

For those of you who have no clue what LocoPops are, we’re talking about paletas, the Mexican popsicle. They have water-based and cream-based paletas, with the water-based made with fantastic (and exotic) fruit flavors. Think mango, but with a touch of cayenne, or lime with mint (mojito, anyone?). The cream-based include chile-chocolate, avocado, and cookies and cream. A small paleta will cost you a buck, so we’ll get a couple. Now that this will be in walking distance to my house, I’m just a wee bit excited, if you couldn’t tell. I’m cuckoo for LocoPops!

4 Responses to LocoPops Coming to Raleigh!!!!

  1. Lenore says:

    Congratulations! ..and I’m not jealous since we’re getting one in Hillsborough, too. 🙂

  2. VaNC says:

    Varmint, I was going to email a squealing note to you saying “LOCOPOPS IS COMING TO RALEIGH” but I see you share my glee.

    This is not good for my diet…………………………

  3. Rochelle says:

    I’m waiting for LocoPop world domination.

    Or at least a store in Greensboro. *snork*

  4. Susan says:

    I can’t wait. I’ve never been, but have heard about it for years.

    And the significance to me of Weatherman’s Jewelers? The big clock in the window always told me how late past my curfew I was when leaving Ed’s Grocery….

Leave a Reply

