The Mint Now Open in Raleigh

mint.jpgI just received an email that The Mint has opened on Fayetteville Street in downtown Raleigh. Housed in an old bank (with the vault serving as an entryway), The Mint appears to be an old-school, protein-heavy restaurant with a contemporary twist. Heading up The Mint’s kitchen is chef Jeremy Clayman, formerly of the Peninsula Grill in Charleston.

Dinner and dessert menus are now available online, although the rest of The Mint’s website is not overly functional yet. I’ve attached some photos that were included in the email below the break, and the space certainly looks quite amazing, featuring a spiral staircase to an upstairs bar area.

mintstairs.jpg

mintbar.jpg

mintsculpture.jpg

18 Responses to The Mint Now Open in Raleigh

  1. Varmint says:

    It seems that the chef, Jeremy Clayman, was involved with the ill-fated Savannah’s and has also been cooking at the Red Room. I don’t know Mr. Clayman and am not familiar with his cooking, but I wonder how long ago it was that he was at the Peninsula Grill.

  2. Joe says:

    Wow — the pictures you’ve been posting lately of restaurants sure do look swank. I’m not sure we even have anyplace so swank-looking in Durham.

  3. Varmint says:

    But you have better food!

  4. AC says:

    Mr. Clayman was at the Peninsula Grille, then Charleston Chops in SC. He then ventured to the Hermitage Hotel in Nashville, TN For a year. Moved to Raleigh to open Savannah’s, but got out before it went down. He then worked at Red Room/1705 (Rocky Top) to pass time waiting on The Mint to open. Check it out, it will be worth it!

  5. AC says:

    Varmint,
    I am curious. Have you been in to eat at The Mint yet?

  6. Varmint says:

    No, not yet. Will eventually give it a try!

  7. AC says:

    oh, ok. Just saw the “better food” comment and wondered. Thanks!

  8. Varmint says:

    That was just a comparison between Raleigh and Durham dining in general. If you’ve been, or are affiliated with The Mint, please feel free to share.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Huh.

    They claim to have the 2006 Rias Baixas by the glass:

    http://www.themintrestaurant.com/menus/menu1.9.08.pdf

    I wonder how long that will last? It’s supposed to be highly allocated. [De Maison Selections brings it in, over in Chapel Hill.]

    Didn’t notice anything from Tim Turner’s line card.

    Ha ha ha.

  10. Maryann says:

    I’m going there tonight…I will let everyone know!

  11. Doug says:

    I checked out the Mint on Saturday night but just for a couple of drinks in the bar. We were passing from one party to another and curiosity got the best of us. I’m not sure where the $4million they supposedly spent on the upfit went… the ligthing looks like tracs from IKEA mixed in with a few nice feature fixtures.

  12. Maryann says:

    The decor was ok. Nothing special…except I did like the booths…very mobish.

    The food was excellent-pricey but very good. Service was exceptional.

    I would go back on a special occasion

  13. apple says:

    Dined at The Mint last night. First, let me say the complimentary valet parking idea was awesome. It is nice to not have to look for a space on a busy Friday night in downtown. We did not have to wait for our table at all. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and so were the other 4 people who came by our table at any given time during the meal. We started out with a duck confit concotion that also had bananna. Then we ordered the butternut squash soup and the lobster appetizer. Both of which were very good and you must try the lobster if you go. I can’t begin to describe the flavors. I ordered the tuna a la carte along with mac & cheese and asapargus. My partner ordered the roasted rack of lamb. Hands down the tuna was the winner of the entrees. The lamb lacked flavor but the tuna was cooked perfectly and only midly seasoned. The mac & cheese was the favorite though out of the main course. I asked for the recipe and was denied initially. Then I had to threaten to post a bad review on this blog and within 5 minutes I had a handwritten mac & cheese recipe that I have sworn not to share 🙂 Dessert was creme brulee and it was worth every calorie to my hips.

    Overall The Mint is worthy of a visit especially if you can get your hands on one of the discout coupons at zspotlight.com. I will definitely return but first I need to master the mac & cheese recipe at home to compare.

  14. Bobbie says:

    Have not been to the Mint, but plan on going..Then its back to Charleston S.C. I do not know this guy(The chef-Jeremy) But I do know his old boss Robert Carter at Peninsula Grill …dine there many times…they have a great bartender …Chris Rynolds After i make my rounds I will give you the low down by May …stay tune..I know my food!!

  15. Wes says:

    They have opened for lunch in the past few days. On the day I went they had:
    salads and soups
    steak and mushroom sandwich (it was very good, lots of mushrooms, arugula, and philly style steak)
    blt
    shrimp and lobster wrap
    burger no bun (made with a mix of tenderloin, Kobe beef, and duck)
    mac and cheese
    some pastas and a steak

    Most of the salads and sandwiches were around 8-9 dollars and the steak was around $15

  16. Jeremy says:

    Having eaten incredible food around the world–including several 4 and 5 star restaurants, as well as the fact I spent 6 years cooking professionally, I know what it takes to create a great meal.

    My wife and went to The Mint this week and had the chef’s tasting. Denver chef Duy Pham and Washington, VA chef Patrick O’Connell have created some of the best food we’ve had.

    But, the progressive food and exemplary service at The Mint provided the best meal we’ve ever enjoyed–hands down. I can’t be more sincere about this. If you have not been to The Mint, you’re denying yourself an amazing experience.

    You must go. You’ll be glad you did.

  17. There is definately a lot to learn about this
    issue. I love all of the points you’ve made.

  18. Hello colleagues, its wonderful paragraph concerning educationand
    fully explained, keep it up all the time.

Leave a Reply

