Shedding the Holiday Pounds

I gained 7 pounds over the holidays. Wow! That’s easily the most weight I ever gained over such a short period of time. Those palmiers, pound cakes and rib roasts sure do hurt a waistline. So I’m taking control again by training for another half marathon. I ran (OK, slowly jogged) the Mardi Gras Half Marathon back in February, and at the time, I was in pretty good shape. My weight had dropped from an all time high of 240 down to 210. I plodded along the streets of New Orleans at a snail-like pace of 11:20 per mile, but I ran the whole damn thing. I then developed plantar fasciitis soon afterwards, stopped running, and started eating poorly again. My wait jumped up, but only to about 220 pounds. That was until the holidays hit, and I ballooned up to 227 pounds. Oink, oink, oink.

I’m always going to eat, so the only realistic solution is to exercise. So, I’m officially training for the Raleigh Rocks Half Marathon on April 5, 2008. I’m announcing this on my blog simply to ensure that I actually do this, as I don’t want to embarrass myself by wimping out.

Also, we foodies are known to be a bit — ah, er, well, out of shape. Particularly those of us who write or read food blogs, as we sit on our butts in front of a computer all day. So I challenge any other food blogger or any of our readers to commit to running this race. Or walking it. Just do something! And commit publicly, as that WILL motivate you.

I promise I’m not turning this blog into a health advice center. But if I don’t run this thing, y’all are free to chastise me as long as you want.

7 Responses to Shedding the Holiday Pounds

  1. Monique says:

    Hey there, I just read this blog and fell off my chair laughing! Oink oink indeed! I weigh about the same as you, and it has been a very long time since I have heard someone be this funny about it! I have no idea who you are but just had to tell you this.

    blog on!

    regards
    Monique
    (Amsterdam, Holland)

  2. Teran says:

    That is so true! I ran the Virginia Beach Half Marathon the past September and have committed myself to running the Cooper River Bridge Run on April 5th, yes it’s only a 10k, but when I ran my half-marathon I also ended up injuring myself so I figured I stick to the shorter races! I work out to eat so having a goal really helps! 🙂 Good luck with the training!

  3. Varmint says:

    The Cooper River is a great race, but it’s just so darned huge. It’s a lot easier now that there’s just that one bridge to cross (but it’s NOT easy — no run is). Anyhow, you’re young enough that you should be able to handle any distance!

  4. MB says:

    Varmint,

    I hope that you are being properly fitted for a running shoe. Plantar facitis is very painful and I know that the Asics Gel Kayanos work well but may not work for your piggies 🙂 Good luck with your race and here’s to more salads. Wheee

  5. Varmint says:

    I spent 45 minutes getting fitted for my current shoes, and then added some great insoles. Along with the stretches I do 5 times a day, my plantar fasciitis is very manageable. Thanks for the kind words.

  6. Varmint says:

    I did my 9 mile run today. I’ll do 10 next week, and then just do a bunch of 5-6 mile runs over the last two weeks before the race. I hate this.

  7. Varmint says:

    I ran the race last Saturday, and talk about rapid weight loss. I sweated off at least 8 pounds over the course of this run. I started seeing spots before my eyes. I was, quite simply, majorly dehydrated, but I made it (very slowly at that).

    Anyhow, I’m ready for some serious training now. No, I’m not about to do a full marathon, but I’m looking at the Virginia Beach race at the end of August. Mmm, more heat!

Leave a Reply

