Cooking for Your Family

Once again, Bob del Grosso has written something that I wish I had. He compares cooking for his family with cooking for strangers (aka “paying customers”). Whether it’s the delays of your family getting to the table, bickering carrying over to mealtime, or the inherent pickiness of each family member, he starts to believe that cooking for strangers is more rewarding. This paragraph really nailed it for me:

Cooking for the same people every day is even tougher if you like to cook a wide variety of things. It seems that everybody besides you has a laundry list of ingredients that they don’t like and arcane, but perfectly valid, reasons to dislike them. The net result of years of not cooking all of the things that my family collectively does not like to eat, is that my repertoire of dishes is about as sparse as the hair on my head.

Yes, I do enjoy cooking for my family, but I’ve nearly lost it several times when, after I’ve worked hard to cook something that I believe everyone will enjoy, I get that “What the hell is this crap” look from one or more of the kids. Or when they ask me to make a particular dish and then they only eat a bite or two.

6 Responses to Cooking for Your Family

  1. Joe says:

    The only thing worse than having family to cook for is not having family to cook for.

  2. Chad says:

    This is sadly all too true. Tired of the whining from an otherwise pretty great pair of kids, I decided to make a no-fail, no-glare meal — breakfast for dinner. I made, or was planning to make, bacon, egg & cheese biscuits gussied up a little with cream biscuits and MAE farms bacon. Just before assembling my masterpieces, my daughter says, “Oh, can I have mine without the egg? And without the cheese? Can I put peanut butter on my biscuit instead and have the bacon on the side?”

    Oy. When you can’t win with biscuits, hang it up.

    Chad

  3. VaNC says:

    I have found that the best way to get the kids to want to eat any “new food” I cook is to tell them they can’t have any. All I have to do is make something just for myself or DH and myself and eat it around them and “I want a bite” “can I have some more” is all I hear. Likely, if I had simply put it in front of them, they would have turned up their noses. Works like a charm.

  4. Joe
    I could not have said that better.

    Hey Dean, Thanks for the kind words! It’s also nice to read the commisery.

  5. Pam says:

    Ah, so I’m not alone! I have cookbooks and recipes coming out of my ears, but what do I make every day? Burgers, fries, nuggets…you get the idea. Heaven forbid anything like a vegetable pass their lips! I swore with my youngest it would be different! I would teach her to try things and enjoy them. So what do I get now? “I want pizza.” “Not tonight, you’re going to have chicken mom made for all of us.” “I don’t want that. I want pizza.” “You always want pizza.” “I like pizza.” That’s the 2 year old – not to mention the 16 and 12 year old who I had to once offer them 5 bucks just to see if they would eat a small piece of onion. (He did – held his nose, closed his eyes and swallowed it whole like I had asked him to eat a live goldfish or something!)

  6. Artoeat says:

    When I ceased to have a catering business, and my business became nurturing my family, I finally understood why women go berserk with daily meals. Quite honestly it ground me to a pulp. All I had to look forward to were holidays when I could shop, chop,and roast in reasonable quantities. I have finally mastered feeding my family on my own terms. They ask what’s for dinner I say- meat, fish, etc. they are given no other information about the cooking procedure until they sit down (again when I am done cooking not when their stomachs go off) for their meal. At that time they ascertain by the plates how fancy and on what behavior is expected at the table.
    Then and only then will I listen to complaints and since I’m happy with what I made their voices melt away from my ears.

Leave a Reply

