Italian Food Commercials Rock

One of my favorite food blogs is Bob del Grosso’s A Hunger Artist, and in today’s post, I found something that reminded me of how much other countries strike the perfect balance in their appreciation of food. Here in the US, we’re constantly bombarded with ads touting the nutritional aspects of food, a dish’s convenience, or, god forbid, the sheer size of portions. On one hand, we don’t have much of an appreciation for food at all, whereas on the other hand, we take it way too seriously.

When del Grosso posted this YouTube clip from Italy, I almost fell out of my chair laughing. You could not find a commercial that is more kitschy, more idiotic, yet completely perfect. It takes a serious and iconic food item, Parmigiano Reggiano, and makes it completely whimsical. Call it an “Up With People” for the foodies.

Enjoy, and watch it to the end for the Christmas snow scene.

7 Responses to Italian Food Commercials Rock

  1. Andrea says:

    Damn it! I’m going to have that silly refrain running through my head all day.

  2. Varmint says:

    Par-Par-Par Par-Par-migiano

    Re-Re-Re Re-Re-gianno!

    And I love that dismembered hand grating the cheese. Is that the hand of God? And why metallic vegetables? Oh, man, this is the BEST!

  3. Varmint says:

    OK, I’ve found a translation to the lyrics:

    I was bored and quite depressed,
    There was nothing to do, and nothing on TV
    All of a sudden, everything changed,
    I fell in love with his taste

    PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO
    PA PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO

    I am alone, and very sad
    I need some company
    I want a companion for my future
    One that smells good,( lit. “ that is fragrant…”) that’s for sure

    PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO
    PA PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO

    Unexpected things come out of the blue
    (lit. “down from the sky”)
    In this story, and this is the good bit,
    I met someone brilliant (clever, ingenious…)
    And he really is original.

    PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO
    PA PA PA PA PA PARMIGIANO
    RE RE RE RE RE RE REGGIANO

    The original tune is an Italian song called “Mama Maria.” Here’s a link to that video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mm1gBuEr7bk

  4. Joe says:

    That is totally great. I’ve posted it myself and linked back to you. I think I’ve watched it like a dozen times already. 🙂

  5. Varmint says:

    If you search YouTube for “parmigiano”, you’ll also find the “Making Of the Commercial” video. Pretty funny stuff.

  6. My son has a load of used Dorito costumes from when they all dressed up as doritos about to be eaten…. I think he may have a new job with the Par-par-parmigiana people. Oh lord, let my prayers be answered and the garage cleaned out.
    Signed,
    Mother of a Film Student

  7. VaNC says:

    Help….please…someone stop this song in my head……………………..

Leave a Reply

