Sexiest Chef in the Triangle???

I ran across this piece from today’s New York Daily News where they named the executive pastry chef at Jean Georges as the sexiest chef in New York, and that got me thinking, who are the sexiest chefs in the Triangle? Male/female, gay/straight, executive/sous/pastry. It doesn’t matter.

What’s funny about the New York poll was that two of the three chefs with photos obviously have a lot of tatoos. We’re talking full-blown, technicolor, below-the-elbow arm ink. Is that necessary? Is it important.

Anyhow, start naming names! Don’t be shy, just because they might be a friend. And if you are concerned, just drop me an email, and I’ll post your suggestions.

Edit: I’ve received a few suggestions and will add them to the list. Some of these are mine, and some have been emailed to me. I’ve added my own editorial comments.

I know I run the risk of coming off as a shill for Fins, but several folks I know have declared William D’Auvray to be über-hot (and even as a heterosexual, I definitely see where they’re coming from). But I don’t have any pictures, either.

Andrea Reusing of Lantern is a redhead, so she automatically makes my list.
food-reusing-lantern-kd-9474.jpg

It might get me in trouble, as she’s a good friend, but several men and women have commented on how they think Ashley Christensen is a babe. (Sorry, Ashley, but it’s a complement!)
ashley_image.jpg

Go here for this flash presentation of several chefs, including Chris Stinnett.

23 Responses to Sexiest Chef in the Triangle???

  1. Celeste says:

    Ok, this is more than a little embarassing, but I vote for Chris Stinnett over at Pop’s in Durham. He’s got a wonderful warm smile.

  2. Joe says:

    NYDN link is broken, or at elast it doesn’t work for me.

  3. Varmint says:

    Link fixed. Thanks!

    And folks, we’ll need to get pictures! Beefcake shots of them making beef, or cake!

  4. Celeste says:

    Uh, I’m not willing to embarass myself enough to take a photo. Sorry. 🙂

  5. Joe says:

    Stinnett is probably going to look a little haggard anyway: he has a newborn at home. 🙂

  6. catena says:

    Jay Beaver hasn’t worked for Frazier’s in a long time.

  7. Varmint says:

    That’s what I thought. He’s out of here.

  8. Joe says:

    BTW, tattoos are just all over the place these days. I don’t know if there’s a correlation with working in food or not though. I bet there’s just a correlation with being younger.

  9. pheebs55 says:

    tats are hot, especially on hotties who cook.

  10. Varmint says:

    So sayeth the one with the dancing salt and pepper shakers on her arm! But whom do you nominate, Pheebs?????

  11. pheebs55 says:

    i was totally referring to those OTHER hotties…

  12. pheebs55 says:

    like Hugh Acheson…but he’s not local.

  13. durhamfood says:

    That picture of Abby Pearce is pretty hot. Andrea Reusing too!

  14. detlefchef says:

    My former sous was all tatted up but also had silly piercings all over his face and had a really bad habit of wearing stupid chef’s pants with Chinese characters all over them, goofy black chef’s coats, and bandanas.

    I often cringed at his ensembles but I’ve learned to pick my battles.

    However, the first time I caught him signing pager messages with upside down “baby kisses” in Italian (as our NYC pastry hottie allegedly use to do), I would have certainly sat him down for a talking to. That would have basically been as bad as playing John Mayer in the kitchen during prep time and possibly justification for immediate termination.

  15. detlefchef says:

    I’ve got a hibiscus flower on my back. Does that count? It’s a natural source of electrolytes and makes a pretty mean punch.

  16. durhamfood says:

    Playing John Mayer in the kitchen should damn well be grounds for immediate termination, if not immediate execution by firing squad.

    Once again, I swear I’m not judgmental 🙂

  17. Kathleen Purvis says:

    So what does Ashley Christensen come with? (Sorry, couldn’t resist — it’s a copy editor joke.) And here in Charlotte, my favorite food tats would include “Chili Man” Vic Werany, whose collection includes illustrations from Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein, and JWU chef-instructor Paul Malcolm, who has “eat” on one wrist and “local” on the other.

  18. Varmint says:

    Detlef, that hibiscus flower just reminds everyone of your sensitive side, you old softy!

  19. Chef Salvadori says:

    If Stinnett’s smile is as big as his belly then that is one happy dude.

  20. good things, small packages says:

    i couldn’t help but notice that you don’t have Josh DeCarolis from Jujube in Chapel Hill on you list of kitchen hotties. i want to officially put in my vote for this tattooed italian stallion. i only noticed a few arm tats, nothing too extreme(although i would be more than willing to explore and see how many tats i can find!) did i mention he was a extraordinary chef too. he has even been offering a 20 course tasting menu, i haven’t had a chance to try it but if it is anything like his nightly specials i’m sure that it will blow you away. i reccomend sitting in the kitchen bar so you can enjoy his wonderful smile as well as the food!

  21. Varmint says:

    Charlie Deal:
    Please make sure Josh sees the comment above. He has an admirer!

  22. detlefchef says:

    Oh, believe me, he’s seen it! In fact, the entire staff has and he’s taking a rash of shit as we speak.

  23. Chris says:

    In fact, John Maher was voted # 3 un-sexy guy in some poll today. That guy wouldn’t look any sexier in a women’s chef coat.
    Ha Ha!

Leave a Reply

