Tang Cocktails

tang-orange.JPG

My friends Brooks and Ann have invited me to a party at their house in New Orleans in early November. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to attend, which is a complete let-down, as the theme of the party is to create a cocktail made with Tang — yes, the powdered breakfast drink that we older folks had back in the 70s. You know, the astronauts’ drink (a bit of trivia: the inventor of Tang, William Mitchell, also invented Pop Rocks and Cool Whip).

So, even though I’m not going, I’m planning on entering at least one cocktail in this competition, and I need help. Send me your ideas for Tang-tails. And I’ve already come up with names galore for this: Harvey Wall-Tanger, the Orang-o-Tang, and the moonshine-based, Wang Dang Sweet MoonTang. Oh, and I can think of lots more!

9 Responses to Tang Cocktails

  1. JaneSays says:

    Interesting (in a good way, as opposed to Spam-based recipes brand of interesting)!! I imagine Tang would taste great if mixed with a decent quality vodka or you could create a TangOCello (a la the Limoncello).

  2. winston says:

    Because of the strong sweetness of Tang, I’m thinking that you could sub in the tang for mixer that is quite sweet. Off the top of my head, it could probably replace pineapple juice nicely. PoonTang Colada?

  3. Joe says:

    When you take the sugar out of Tang, what’s left is mostly orange oil. You can buy orange oil separately and do neat things with it, but for some people, it might be easier to buy Tang. There’s a recipe in Rose Levy Beranbaum‘s The Cake Bible that uses Tang for part of the orange flavor. If Rose can do it, I think it’s ok for anyone else. 🙂

  4. Jeff says:

    Here’s a variation on what I call a caipirquila, which is itself a variation of a caipirinha:

    Cut a lime into 8 pieces and put into a heavy glass or mug. Muddle the lime pieces along with a heaping tablespoon of Tang. Transfer the mixture into a suitable drinking glass if what you muddled in isn’t. Add 5 or 6 ice cubes, then pour in 3 oz of white(silver) tequila. Stir really well. Give it a name if it’s worthwhile.

  5. Varmint says:

    I’ll try it and get back to you. Thanks!

  6. tracey says:

    How about Tang and Stoli vanilla vodka for a creamsicle? Definatley shaken not stirred, I would want to see some foam on top.

    Tracey

  7. Horhe says:

    Hey mang, I just did this crazay thang. I like put my tang in a glass, a scoop full, then like poured some vodka over that, 4 shots ya, then i filled the rest with beer ya, bout 3/4 of a glass. Best drink i’ve had in a while. My boy up south told me that it parallels a skippy or something but I don’t know mangs. Try it, is good.

  8. kim says:

    looking for a recipe for a moonshine tang

  9. Vince says:

    You are able to render this experience even better by installing suitable exhaust.
    This depends on overall cost, electricity vehicles will be the best selection once they go into creation within a few years’
    time, because they produce zero emissions.

Leave a Reply

