Duke Student’s “Z-Kitchen” Featured in NY Times

z-squid.jpg

Holy Sous Vide, Batman!! A Duke student’s underground restaurant is the focus of a New York Times Magazine article to be published this Sunday. Bryan Zupon has a love of cutting edge cuisine. He comes from a privileged background, but rather than just going to all the top restaurants, he immerses himself in them. He’s so caught up in contemporary, hyper-modern cuisine (think Wylie Dufresene and Grant Achatz), that he opened his own underground restaurant, serving some of the most creative food in the Southeast, let alone the Triangle. Where did he serve it? In his college apartment, of course. Needless to say, this kid has serious chops, and now that the Times has “discovered” him, I seriously wonder whether he’s actually going to law school after all.

Anyhow, I had a fun meal at Zupon’s Z-Kitchen a year ago, and I offer the photos after the break as evidence of what this young man is capable of doing.
z-menu.jpg

The menu

z-scallop.jpg

Scallop and chanterelle

z-croquetas.jpg

Croquetas

z-salmon.jpg

Salmon. One of the best dishes I’ve ever eaten.
z-brian.jpg

Zupon in action in his “elaborate” kitchen. Heh.

2 Responses to Duke Student’s “Z-Kitchen” Featured in NY Times

  1. Varmint says:

    Bryan was featured on a WUNC spot yesterday. The N&O will also be doing a story about him soon. All this attention without a publicist!!

  2. First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.

    I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas
    out. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

